The Captain Live in Liverpool


Song List

Disc One

  1. ‘Toaster’ (bass solo)
  2. Nowadays a Woman’s Gotta Hit a Man
  3. Abba Zabba
  4. Hot Head
  5. Dirty Blue Jean
  6. Best Batch Yet
  7. One Man Sentence (poem)
  8. Safe As Milk
  9. Flavor Bud Living
  10. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles
  11. One Red Rose That I Mean
  12. Doctor Dark

Disc Two

  1. Bat Chain Puller
  2. My Human Gets Me Blues
  3. Sugar ‘N’ Spikes
  4. Veteran’s Day Poppy
  5. Dropout Boogie
  6. Sheriff of Hong Kong
  7. Kandy Korn
  8. Suction Prints
  9. Big Eyed Beans from Venus

Radar Station Overview

Recorded live at Rotter’s Club, Liverpool on 29th October, 1980

This excellent 2CD set of the complete Liverpool show was the first. Subsequent versions have appeared but they have had the between song banter/silence edited out to fit on one disc.

The cover has 1972 picture of Don taken (possibly) outside the Bluecoat Gallery in Liverpool where he had an exhibition. The lettering on the cover has been based on Don’s handwriting – the reverse of the insert has the handwritten ‘What the Bull Ate’ quote with small 1980(?) photo.

The discs themselves are nicely labelled with early Van Vliet paintings – a different one on each disc – Untitled 1969 on disc one and When she Dropped The Flower 1967 on disc two. Another painting – Ghost Red Wire 1967 – is included on the inside of the back cover.

The Magic Band are listed but for some reason drummer Robert Williams has been left off – other boots of this show have repeated this error!


  • 1998 no label no number


Help us

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *