Live In Cowtown Kansas City

Somewhere Over Kansas


Song List

  1. Mirror Man
  2. Upon The My-0-My
  3. Crazy Little Things
  4. Full Moon, Hot Sun
  5. Sugar Bowl
  6. This Is The Day
  7. Keep On Rubbing
  8. Be Your Dog
  9. Sweet Georgia Brown
  10. Abba Zabba
  11. Peaches


From the publicity blurb:

There are very few truly iconoclastic figures in the history of popular music since the mid 20th century, but Don Van Vliet (1941-2010), aka Captain Beefheart, is certainly one of them. By the time of this April 1974 broadcast, Captain Beefheart – and the 29th incarnation in along line of ever-mutating Magic Bands – had reverted to more traditionally-structured compositions, to the chagrin of some fans.

Caught live in Kansas City, Beefheart was amidst an extensive US (and subsequent European) tour promoting his eighth album,Unconditionally Guaranteed. The often truculent Beefheart is in an unusually upbeat mood throughout.

The touring band included some highly revered players including reedsman Del Simmons, who had previously played with Charlie Parker, guitarists Dean Smith and Fuzzy Fuscaldo (recently with Curtis Mayfield), bassist Paul Uhrig from Bobbie Gentrys group, and drummer Ty Grimes, fresh from Rick Nelsons acclaimed Stone Canyon Band.


Another release by Gonzo Multimedia in their ongoing series of live Beefheart shows. This time it’s of this often bootlegged 1974 Cowtown Ballroom show. See also Crazy Little Things, Captain Hook and Full Moon In Cowtown

Do we really need yet another version of this?


  • 2015 CD on GonzoMultimedia GZO107CD

1 Comment

  1. We didn’t even need the first one. Or this dubiously-credentialled “Magic Band”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *