Flavor Bud Living


Song list:

Side 1

  1. Abba Zaba
  2. Hot Head
  3. Ashtray Heart
  4. Dirty Blue Gene
  5. Best Batch Yet

Side 2

  1. Safe As Milk
  2. Flavor Bud Living
  3. Her Eyes Are As Blue Million Miles (sic)
  4. One Red Rose
  5. One Man Sentence
  6. Doctor Dark
  7. Batchain Puller (sic)

Side 3

  1. My Human Gets Me Blues
  2. Sugar ‘n’ Spike (sic)
  3. Veterans’ Day Poppy
  4. Dropout Boogie
  5. Sheriff of Hong Kong

Side 4

  1. Candy Corn (sic)
  2. Suction Print (sic)
  3. Big Eyed Beans From Venus

Radar Station Overview

A very professional looking European double bootleg with royal blue labels and white lettering , spoilt only by some of the song titles being spelt incorrectly.

This is the 1st November 1980 concert at the famous Paradiso in Amsterdam. The over the top
cover must have been inspired by the ‘Gutbucket’ sampler. The sound is treetrunk stereo which has an unpleasant hollow sound that appears to have been mastered at the wrong speed so Beefheart sings too high.

The concert itself is tense with Beefheart telling the audience “not to throw things” and really freaking out when they boo him after a splendid “Veterans Day Poppy” – it sounds like Beefheart not responding to their repeated calls for “Big Eyed Beans”. It does feature Gary Lucas – then manager – reciting Beefheart’s poem “One Man Sentence”.

“Suction Prints”, the instrumental that started many shows, is the penultimate track with Beefheart giving it plenty of horn before the final track – “Big Eyed Beans From Venus” – with Beefheart imploring “Mister Midnite Hatsize Snyder and Mister Jeff Moris Tepper … hit that long lunar note …
and let it float”


  • 1980 European double vinyl on Haro Records CB 1180

Help us

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

Back to the Paradiso info index



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *