Blue Collar – Original Soundtrack discography

Track list

  1. Hard Workin’ Man (Main Title) – Captain Beefheart
  2. Goodbye, So Long – Ike and Tina Turner
  3. Zeke, Jerry & Smokie – performer not listed
  4. Party – performer not listed
  5. Wang Dang Doodle – Howlin’ Wolf
  6. Easy Listening – performer not listed
  7. Coke Machine – performer not listed
  8. Quittin’ Time (Main Theme) – performer not listed
  9. Satin Sheets – Jeanne Pruett
  10. F.B.I. (Main Theme) – performer not listed
  11. Saturday Night Special – Lynyrd Skynyrd
  12. Blue Collar (Main Theme & End Title) – performer not listed

Album overview from Graham Johnston

The score was composed and conducted by Jack Nitzsche which is more than enough to recommend this album.

The Beefheart tune, “Hard Workin’ Man”, appears on the compilation The Dust Blows Forward, but if you’re inclined towards getting the original albums, it’s well worthwhile in this case.

Blue Collar was the soundtrack to the movie of the same name. There is a story that Don had to be locked in a recording studio to get him to record the main track. The film features a different, ‘filthier’ version of the Beefheart tune from the one that appeared on either this soundtrack or Dust…, containing the line “Hard workin’ fucked over man” instead.

Incidentally “Hard Workin Man” also appears in the film A Civil Action starring John Travolta, though is not on the soundtrack album for that film.

Info from the sleeve

Music composed and Conducted by Jack Nitzsche. Album Produced for MCA Records by Sonny Burke A T.A.T. Production – A Universal Release (P)1973 (P)1975 (P)1978 MCA Records, Inc.

On the cover it lists the album as MCA#: MCAC-3034.

Here is a segment from the CD sleevenotes, written by Alan Robinson in June 1995, which tells the story behind Beefheart’s contribution, kindly scanned and sent by David Naughton:

Purchase Blue Collar

Help us out

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *