Unofficial cover art by Unkie Al

Song list:

  1. Frownland
  2. The Dust Blows Forward And The Dust Blows Back
  3. Dachau Blues
  4. [spoken]
  5. Ella Guru
  6. Hair Pie (Orchestral Version)
  7. Moonlight On Vermont
  8. Pachuco Cadaver
  9. Bill’s Corpse
  10. Sweet Sweet Bulbs
  11. Steal Softly Thru Snow
  12. My Human Gets Me Blues
  13. Hair Pie (Guitar Version)

Further info

A fascinating but, sadly, unreleased project from musician Lewis Taylor.

Overview by Derek Laskie

Troutrageous Replica!

I have recently been playing a demo CD called ‘Trout Mask Replica’, a Replica replica, single-handedly made by Lewis Taylor, a professional musician best known for his soul albums and his music for feature films.

Lewis chooses not to follow the growling vocal path of the Beefheart imitators but uses his own voice, phrasings and intonations to achieve a fresh fidelity to the spirit of the original. His musical arrangements contribute to the impression of hearing Beefheart rendered in a parallel universe.

Much chorus-work and squelchy guitar playing, a Hammond acid-jazz-with-angles version of ‘Frownland’, a ‘Dust Blows Forward’ over fairground music, a Zappa-esque orchestral ‘Hair Pie’ and a manic synthy ‘Steal Softly’ all contribute to the outrageousness of this Trout Variation.

With audacity, love and an intimate knowledge of the music Lewis completed only thirteen tracks before abandoning the project late last year.

There are no plans to make the CD commercially available, but some tracks should soon be available for download at a fan-site: http://www.lewistaylormusic.com/special

Comments from Lewis Taylor fans about tracks they’ve already heard make for interesting reading:

Lewis Taylor’s own website is here: http://www.slowreality.com

Help us out

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.


Leave a Comment »

Popular topics:

1977 | 2017 | Alex Snouffer | Anton Corbijn | Art Tripp | Bat Chain Puller | BBC | Benjamin Horrendous | Big Eyed Beans From Venus | Bill Harkleroad | Bluejeans and Moonbeams | Bongo Fury | Byron Coley | Captain Beefheart The Biography | China Pig | Clear Spot | Collaborations | Covers | Creem Magazine | Dave Dimartino | Death | Denny Walley | Derek Laskie | Doc At The Radar Station | Don Aldridge | Down Beat | Elaine Shepherd | Encounters in the wild | Eugene Chadbourne | Exhibitions | Frank Zappa | Gary Lucas | Gary Marker | Graham Johnston | Grow Fins | Henry Kaiser | Herb Bermann | Ice Cream For Crow | Interview | Jan Van Vliet | Jasper Leach | Jeff Cotton | Jimmy Carl Black | John French | John Peel | Knebworth | Knoedler and Co | Kristine McKenna | Legendary A&M Sessions | Lester Bangs | Lewis Taylor | Lick My Decals Off Baby | Los Angeles Times | Magic Band reunion | Mark Boston | Mascara Snake | Michael Eivaz | Michael Traylor | Michael Werner Gallery | Mike Barnes | Mirror Man | Mojo Magazine | New York Times | Nulsh | Orange Claw Hammer | Orange Claw Hammer (band) | Outtake | Pachuco Cadaver (tribute album) | Pamela Des Barres | Phonograph Record Magazine | Retirement from music | Revenant | Rhino Handmade | Robert Palmer | Robert Williams | Robyn Hitchcock | Rolling Stone | Ry Cooder | Safe As Milk | Samuel Andreyev | Shiny Beast | Sounds | Spotlight Kid | Steve Froy | Strictly Personal | Sugar 'N Spikes | Sundazed | The Artist Formerly Known As Captain Beefheart | The Dust Blows Forward | The Guardian | The Wire | Through The Eyes Of Magic | Tom Waits | Tragic Band | Tributes | Trout House | Trout Mask Replica | Unconditionally Guaranteed | Victor Hayden | Wha?
Captain Beefheart Radar Station - about us