If You Got Ears


Song List

  1. Hard Working Man (blue collar 7″ version)
  2. Moody Liz (strictly personal outtake)
  3. Odd Jobs (bat chain outtake)
  4. Mirror Man (drury lane 1974)
  5. Torture (bongo fury outtake)
  6. Little Scratch (outtake)
  7. Funeral Hill (outtake)
  8. Dirty Blue Gene (early version)
  9. Picture of Mahavishnu (live)
  10. Light Reflected (rare 12″)
  11. Evil (avalon ballroom 1966)
  12. Flash Gordon’s Ape (alternate vocal No. 1)
  13. Lick My Decals Off (instrumental version)
  14. Hard Working Man (obscene version)

Radar Station Overview

A great selection of Beefheart rarities, many of which are still pretty difficult to get hold of. The sound quality throughout is very good. Unfortunately the packaging is basic.

Sleeve notes:

“It’s over a decade since the Captain last
entered a recording studio and if rumours of his ill health are
true, it’s unlikely he ever will again. He gave up music to live
in the Mojave dessert [sic] and indulge his first love, painting.

So, for those that miss that magnificent voice, here, as a taster of things to come, is a selection of rare, unissued and alternative studio and live cuts.

As the Captain said: if you got ears, you gotta listen.'”


  • 1994 no label CBCD 313. Made in the EEC Luxembourg

Help us

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *