Hmmm… is this the very best surviving clip of Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band? I think it could be:

Recorded on 15 January 1971 at WABX Studio, directed by Chuck Reti. Available on the enhanced disc of Grow Fins.

Track list

  • When Big Joan Sets Up
  • Woe Is Uh Me Bop
  • Bellerin’ Plain

Line up

  • Don Van Vliet
  • Bill Harkleroad
  • Mark Boston
  • Elliot Ingber
  • Art Tripp
  • John French


  1. Joel Rizzo says:

    Absolutely, for my money this is definitely the best film footage of Don and the guys that I’ve ever seen. And thanks to the freaks at Zappateers I’ve seen quite a bit. Just beautiful stuff here, that makes today’s “alternative” music look/sound as lame as it really is. Miss you, Don. To me, you were the best.

  2. Tom Gothard says:

    This is sublime. How can such apparent cacophony produce an inner state of peace? By magic of course (of course).

Leave a Comment »

Captain Beefheart Radar Station - about us