Broadcast from London & Bremen 1968-72


Side One
1. Yellow Brick Road
2. Abba Zabba
3. Sure ‘Nuff ‘n’ Yes I Do
4. Electricity
5. Beatle Bones ‘n’ Smokin’ Stones
6. Safe As Milk
7. Kandy Korn
Side Two
1. Trust Us
2. Steal Softly Thru Snow
3. Click Clack
4. Golden Birdies
5. I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby

Publicity Blurb

Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band are showcased over 12 tracks recorded live for radio and TV. The material is sourced from two 1968 sessions for John Peel plus a 1972 appearance on Beat Club and features tracks from four different Beefheart LPs. Beat Club tracks are excellent sound quality. BBC tracks are recorded off air but are still thoroughly listenable. Comes with full credits and comprehensive sleeve notes.

Radar Station Review

Another ‘grey’ area release, only available on vinyl, this time from the well established Rhythm & Blues label in UK under their 1960s Records banner. This is the first album featuring Beefheart they have released.

The album cover has been designed to look like an early to mid 1960s release (especially the back cover and the inner sleeve). So some thought has gone into the presentation which is not always the case with such unofficial releases. All of the information given, track titles, band members and dates of recording are all correct.

There are sleeve notes written by Debra Kadabra which keep to the facts.

There is nothing new as regards the music. All the tracks have been released before although not officially.

As the publicity blurb says the two 1968 John Peel sessions have been recorded off air, i.e. a fan with a tape recorder at home. The original BBC tapes no longer exist because tapes were wiped back in the 60s to make way for the next recording. As such the quality of the recording is not going to get audiophiles wetting themselves but if you’re a fan they are an essential listen to hear the ‘Strictly Personal’ band tackle four ‘Safe As Milk’ songs and then blast through some, at the time unreleased, ‘Strictly Personal’ tracks. They have a raw sound with Don’s vocal clear and strong.

Side two concentrates on tracks recorded in 1972 for the German TV show ‘Beat Club’ and the sound quality is excellent. It includes a ‘Steal Softly Thru Snow’ instrumental with some great sax from Don, plus a hypnotic Click Clack, a short and sweet ‘Golden Birdies’ and a stonking ‘I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby’ which was the only track to be broadcast on the show itself.

If you don’t have these tracks then this release is probably worth a purchase.


  • 2023 UK vinyl on 60s Records/Rhythm & Blues Records R&B119


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *