Song list:

  1. Little Scratch
  2. Dirty Blue Gene
  3. Funeral Hill
  4. Flash Gordon’s Ape
  5. Sun Zoom Spark
  6. Key To The Highway
  7. Hot Head
  8. Ashtray Heart
  9. Safe As Milk
  10. China Pig
  11. Sheriff of Hong Kong
  12. Kandy Korn
  13. Veteran’s Day Poppy
  14. Big Eyed Beans from Venus
  15. Hoboism

Tracks 1 – 4: Studio out-takes 1970

Tracks 5 – 6: Studio rehearsal 1972

Tracks 7 – 8: Saturday Night Live Nov 1980

Tracks 9 – 14: The Country Club Reseda, CA Jan 28 1981

Track 15: Studio demo 1975

Radar Station Overview

Although track 4 (Flash Gordon’s Ape) is definitely from 1970 and is a Decals out-take, tracks 1 to 3 are from the Spotlight Kid/Brown Star/Clear Spot sessions so they may date from 1971. Tracks 5 and 6 probably also date from 1971 rather than 1972 – these catch Don fooling around and having fun with some blues songs while Bill Harkleroad (or possibly Elliot Ingber) strums along with him.

The packaging is okay, some great photos of Don from 1974 and a vintage shot of the classic 1972 Magic Band on stage. The sound quality of all of these tracks is very good. Pity the information is a bit off … but that’s often to be expected with boots! A good selection of rare tracks but why add a whole bunch from the Best Batch Yet boot?

The SNL versions of ‘Hot Head’ and ‘Ashtray Heart’ are amazing and, of course, the jewel is the cracking, never released, ‘Hoboism’ which Don cooked up with Denny Walley one night in 1976.


  • 2000 US CD Pontiac no number

Help us

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *