Recording details:

Date – spring 1974
Studio – Hollywood Sound, Los Angeles
Producer – Andy DiMartino
Engineer – John Guess, Jim Callon


  • Don Van Vliet – vocals, harmonica
  • Bill Harkleroad – guitar
  • Alex St Clair Snouffer – guitar
  • Mark Boston – bass
  • Art Tripp – drums
  • Mark Marcellino – keyboards
  • Andy DiMartino – guitar
  • Del Simmons – sax, flute

Track list

  1. Upon The My O My
  2. Sugar Bowl
  3. New Electric Ride
  4. Magic Be
  5. Happy Love Song
  6. Full Moon Hot Sun
  7. I Got Love On My Mind
  8. This is the Day
  9. Lazy Music
  10. Peaches

Album overview from Graham Johnston

This album isn’t one that I would recommend as a first time purchase, as it is strikingly different from what one may expect the Captain to produce. Commonly regarded as one of the Captain’s two worst albums, many Beefheart fans hate Unconditionally Guaranteed with a real passion. Even Beefheart himself later urged people to take it back to the shop and get a refund.

However, it is an album that I happen to adore. These are mostly strong, simple love songs, admittedly with none of the sharp corners that you may be used to with Beefheart’s music, though none could be described as being ‘conventional’ when compared with more conventional artists. It is still Beefheart, just a mellowed, simpler, gentler, kinder, less complex Beefheart than we’re used to.

It also heralded the end of the classic Magic Band which made albums such as Trout Mask Replica, Lick My Decals Off Baby and Clear Spot. Things were badly falling apart at this stage and, unwilling to tolerate the hardships and abuse any more, the band walked out. This album is the end of a chapter.

If you’re unsure, listen to the highlights: Upon The My Oh My, I Got Love On My Mind, This Is The Day or Lazy Music. It’s impossible for me to understand how anyone could fail to love them.


Media appearances

  • The Old Grey Whistle Test – watch a performance of Upon The My Oh My and This Is The Day, following the departure of the Magic Band.

Purchase Unconditionally Guaranteed

Unconditionally Guaranteed releases

View the Radar Station’s full information about the various editions of Unconditionally Guaranteed which have appeared over the years.

Related links

Help us out

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.


  1. Stuart says:

    I couldn’t agree with your review More… “Unconditionally Guaranteed” is a wonderful album full of simple Love songs well played by the magic band and well sung by Don.
    just because it dosnt sound anything like Trout mask replica dosnt mean its not a great album in its own right..had it been written by another contemporary artist it may be seen as a classic album , now, I actually dont think there are any weak tracks on the album, but the stand outs for me are “This is the day” and “I Got Love on my Mind”
    I just think this album was not a commercial success for Beefheart because it was him who made it and not someone else

  2. RICHARD says:

    I believe anyone who truly appreciates Dons music
    would love this album and the next one too.

    To say that these two albums are somehow inferior to the rest of his output is a disservice to the music and to yourself.
    So the critics didn’t like them.
    Who cares .
    Use your own ears and then decide.

  3. Les Mayers says:

    I think Don (Capt B) was a brilliant artist. Why should he make albums that sounds the same?

    The Beatles varied their albums and they never lost popularity… they even found new audiences.

    I remember when Unconditionally Guaranteed came out and of course SAW their Whistle Test performance.

    Great stuff.

    Gone but not forgotten..

  4. Vik SriRekam says:

    Right there with you.

    That OGWT performance is really something.

Leave a Comment »

Popular topics:

2017 | Alex Snouffer | Anton Corbijn | Art Tripp | Bat Chain Puller | BBC | Beat Club | Benjamin Horrendous | Big Eyed Beans From Venus | Bill Harkleroad | Bluejeans and Moonbeams | Bongo Fury | Byron Coley | Cal Schenkel | Captain Beefheart The Biography | China Pig | Clear Spot | Collaborations | Covers | Creem Magazine | Dave Dimartino | Death | Denny Walley | Derek Laskie | Dirty Blue Gene | Doc At The Radar Station | Don Aldridge | Down Beat | Elaine Shepherd | Encounters in the wild | Eugene Chadbourne | Exhibitions | Frank Zappa | Gary Lucas | Gary Marker | Graham Johnston | Grow Fins | Henry Kaiser | Herb Bermann | Ice Cream For Crow | Interview | Jan Van Vliet | Jasper Leach | Jeff Cotton | Jimmy Carl Black | John French | John Lennon | John Peel | Knebworth | Knoedler and Co | Kristine McKenna | Legendary A&M Sessions | Lester Bangs | Lewis Taylor | Lick My Decals Off Baby | Los Angeles Times | Magic Band reunion | Mark Boston | Mascara Snake | Michael Eivaz | Michael Werner Gallery | Mike Barnes | Mirror Man | Mojo Magazine | New York Times | Nulsh | Old Fart At Play | Orange Claw Hammer | Orange Claw Hammer (band) | Outtake | Pamela Des Barres | Phonograph Record Magazine | Retirement from music | Revenant | Rhino Handmade | Robert Palmer | Robert Williams | Robyn Hitchcock | Rolling Stone | Ry Cooder | Safe As Milk | Shiny Beast | Sounds | Spotlight Kid | Steve Froy | Strictly Personal | Sundazed | The Artist Formerly Known As Captain Beefheart | The Dust Blows Forward | The Guardian | The Independent | The Lost Episodes | The Wire | Through The Eyes Of Magic | Tragic Band | Trout House | Trout Mask Replica | Unconditionally Guaranteed | Victor Hayden | Wha?
Captain Beefheart Radar Station - about us