Pachuco Cadaver by Eugene Chadbourne & Jimmy Carl Black

Many thanks to James Silberbauer for providing all this information

Track list

  • Buggie Boogie Woogie
  • Willie The Pimp
  • Drop-out Boogie
  • Sure ’nuff ‘n’ Yes I Do
  • Clear Spot
  • Steal Softly Through Sunshine Steal Softly Through Snowdrop (Excerpt from “Insect And Western” by EC)
  • The Past Sure Is Tense
  • Veteran’s Day Poppy (Including “Ponca War Song” trad. arranged by EC and several themes by Thelonious Monk)
  • Chasin’ The Captain Jack (by EC) Based on a Kiowa Sioux lullaby (I’m Gonna Booglarize You, Baby)
  • Pachuco Cadaver [This is actually split into 2 tracks on the CD] (Including La Rosa by EC)
  • The Dust Blows Forward And The Dust Blows Back

Album overview from James Silberbauer

It may not be every Beefheart fan’s cup of tea, but they have covered the songs without copying them while still respecting the originals. For example, the version of “The Dust Blows Forward…” has been re-interpreted in much the same way as Beefheart & Zappa treat “Orange Claw Hammer” on “Grow Fins”, with JCB drumming on Cassette Shipping Box and EC on Banjo & Voice.

I love this album. I’ll always prefer the originals (of course, of course), but this is good stuff too.


  • EC: Guitar, Banjo, Voice
  • JCB: Drums, Voice


  • EC: Bass Banjo, Prepared Piano, Saxophones, Turntables, Drums
  • JCB: Cassette Shipping Box
  • Brian Ritchie: Didjiridoo
  • Leslie Ross: Bassoons
  • Ashwin Batish: Sitar
  • Chris Turner: Harmonicas
  • Molly Chadbourne: Vocal
  • Rik Rue: Tapes
  • Ricardo Shields: Guitar, Baroque Flute
  • Pablo de la Rosa: Transverse Flute


  • 1995 FIREANT FACD1007


Purchase Pachuco Cadaver

Help us out

If anyone is able to complete or update any of the information above, then please do get in touch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *