New old footage and photos

It’s always good to see new Beefheart related items appearing.


The UK company Voiceprint Records  have announced a new addition to their ‘Lost Broadcasts’ series of DVDs due for release on 18 June 2012:

[wp_quote] On the 12th April, in the middle of the European leg of the tour Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band stopped off at the Beat Club studios in Bremen to film a session for later transmission. Of the four song session filmed that day only one track has ever been broadcast. The band at that time included:

  • Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet), vocals, harp.
  • Rockette Morton (Mark Boston), guitar/bass.
  • Zoot Horn Rollo (Bill Harkleroad), guitar.
  • Orejon (Roy Estrada), bass. Ed Marimba (Art Tripp), drums.
  • Winged Eel Fingerling (Elliot Ingber), guitar.

Jon Kirkman describes the recordings: “The session kicks off with a bass solo entitled ‘Mascara Snake’. This short piece was named after a former member of the Magic Band Victor Hayden, who had appeared on the Trout Mask Replica album. The solo is played by Mark Boston although at this point former Mothers of Invention bassist Roy Estrada had joined The Magic Band following his departure from Little Feat in early 1972. The other songs in the set here include a track dating back to Trout Mask Replica (‘Steal Softly Thru Snow’) and also a track that would feature on Clear Spot some eight months later (‘Golden Birdies’).[/wp_quote]

This has caused a ripple of excitement at the Radar Station as we weren’t even aware that this footage existed. Can’t wait to see it. Now, if only someone could locate the lost footage from the Rome Festival 1968 and Bataclan 1972 show …


Back in 1972 (15 October to be exact) Richard Burke found himself on the stage of Pittsburgh’s Syria Mosque with his first professional camera. He was lucky enough to get a few shots in before being asked to leave the stage. Here are three of them:

Some of these photos are being made available as prints or postcards, t-shirts or hoodies. Look out for details on those pages


  1. Wow, great news about the footage.. hopefully they can pad the dvd with other worthwhile stuff…?

  2. My information is that they also played Click Clack, it’s possible that it was not documented correctly at the time as my info does not mention Golden Birdies.

  3. Full T/List for the amazing “Lost Episodes” Beat Club Footage is as follows..

    What’s Shakin in Vlietland!
    “Lost Episodes”
    Full T/Listing:
    1. Mascara Snake (Bass Solo)
    2. Click Clack 1
    3. Click Clack 2
    4. Golden Birdies
    5. Band Intros
    6. Im Gonna Booglarize You Baby 1
    7. Im Gonna Booglarize You Baby 2
    8. Steal Softly Thru The Snow
    9. Im Gonna Booglarize You Baby 3

    All The Best
    Bloodshot Rollin..

  4. “Pad” the dvd? Man, don’t be so greedy. This is a momentous event! Great year thus far for Beefheart fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *